Today warranted 2 posts, so please scroll down!  Our original deal was, if there was more than one food holiday on a given day, we’d pick the one that most inspired us and run with it.  But as you’ll see below, I couldn’t let “National Vodka Day” pass by without comment.

In the meantime… welcome to National Taco Day!

For National Taco Day, my husband, who like B’s believes everything is better with beef, challenged me to a “taco-off”.DSCN0002-1

DSCN0010-1

My tacos: Tuna with pipián sauce.  I dusted the tuna with a spice blend of sweet smoked paprika (if this is not currently in your pantry, welcome it), pepper and sea salt.

His tacos: ground beef with “Mexican Mix” spice blend.  To be fair, J’s spice blend is his own creation: a mixture of chili powder, granulated garlic, cumin, pepper, salt and smoked paprika.

I’m of the “build your own taco” opinion.  We served ours on corn tortillas (taste so much better than flour) with the following accompaniments:

  • Pickled shallots: thinly slice 4-5 shallots & place in small bowl.  Sprinkle over ½ tsp sugar. Pour over red wine vinegar just to cover.  Cover and let sit 1 hour or more.  Just before using, drain off vinegar (reserve for future use in salad dressing).
  • grilled corn salad (grill 2 cobs corn, cut the kernels off and toss with 1 chopped red pepper, ¼ sweet onion, 1 clove garlic, cilantro, green onion, chopped jalapeno, a pinch of smoked paprika, lime juice, olive oil and salt, to taste)
  • tomato salsa (4 or 5 tomatoes, small dice; 1 jalapeno; 2 cloves garlic, diced sweet onion, lime juice, salt and pepper)
  • guacamole (mash 2 avocadoes with 2 cloves garlic, juice of 1 lime, salt and pepper to taste)
  • chipotle sauce (blend 1 cup yoghurt with 1 chipotle in adobo sauce, 1 clove garlic and a pinch of salt).
  • chopped lettuce
  • crumbled goat feta
  • grated monteray jack cheeseThe meal

Although I am generally not a fan of four-legged meat, I think the beef won in this instance.  J is the barbeque master in our family and there was a slight miscommunication.  I’m not sure my comment “slightly more than seared does not mean ‘cook the f*** out of it’ in anyone’s language” necessarily won me any points, however.

Funny how I can simmer a sauce for hours but thoughts spring out half-baked on a regular basis.

E

P.S.  Apron was blue with a smattering of purple leaves.

