Ah … the fluffernutter.  What, you ask, is a fluffernutter?  That’s what I was asking when I discovered that I would be responsible for this post.  I did a little digging, a little research, a little sleuthing, if you will, and discovered that a fluffernutter is a sandwich.  A sandwich made with white bread, peanut butter and Marshmallow Fluff®.  Yuck!

Well, that was my first reaction.

That’s disgusting!

That was my second reaction.

Truth be told, I was kind of dreading this day.  But I am a dutiful soldier, so I added the necessary ingredients to the shopping list and conducted a little research.

It turns out that there is just too much to say about the fluffernutter for the tiny little space allowed me here.  A search on Google came up with 78,000 hits in 0.25 seconds!  There has long been a lobby to make the fluffernutter the state sandwich of Massachussetts and a corresponding lobby to ban it from the State schools.  Fluffernutters, apparently, provoke strong reactions in people.  It may even have provoked a war!  I stumbled across a video of the fluffernutter song.  And the history of the FN is kinda interesting.

Marshmallow Fluff® is the original stuff, hence the “fluff” in the “fluffer, but all we could get was the Kraft version which is called JetPuffed (does that make it a puffernutter?).  It doesn’t really matter what kind of peanut butter you use to be the “nutter”.  I tried Kraft Light and Kraft Unsalted Unsweetened (for the ‘healthy’ version).  Then I spread liberal amounts of each on slices of wonderbread (the white stuff – who buys whole wheat wonderbread – what’s even the point?).

The fixin's

The fixin's

Did I mention that I was a doubter?

Oh. My. God.

IMG_1486

Ooey, gooey, disgusting, can’t-stop-eating-it-now-I-get-why-some-people-want-to-canonize-it!!!

When you cut off the crusts, all the goodness starts to ooze out

When you cut off the crusts, all the goodness starts to ooze out

But it doesn’t work out well as finger sandwiches.

B

