Angel Food is great if you put the right stuff on it!

Angel Food is great if you put the right stuff on it!

I have never made Angel Food Cake.

I wasn’t about to start now.

Which is not to say that I’m not up to the challenge and, surely, had this day been a Sunday, giving me the Saturday previous to make a spectacular mess of my kitchen, I would’ve done it.  But after last week’s caramel custard debacle … I found myself once more at the grocery store in a rush late on a Friday and, as I stood in the baking goods aisle almost seriously contemplating the Duncan Hines cake mixes and wondering if I would have time to get to LD to buy an angel food cake pan before picking up my son at daycare, I realized that it simply wasn’t on.  I couldn’t do it again. I do NOT make anything from a mix and already this blog has reduced me to it once.  Never again I say.  Never again!

So, in the interests of expediency, I bought a premade Thrifty’s Angel Food Loaf.  I mean, it’s just egg white and sugar cake.  How special can it be really?

I hate to say it, but I think I felt less inspired by angel food cake than I did by the fluffernutter.  Maybe it was too many sweet things in a row.  I mean, with the exception of Mouldy Cheese Day, I’ve pretty much been on a sweets kick since we started this thing.  I love baking – but I actually don’t have a sweet tooth.  How ironic right?  Anyway, I did a little research (as per usual) on the history of the angel food cake.  It was kinda interesting and if you want to read about it, you can go here.

The Thrifty’s cake tasted like … well … angel food cake.  Light, fluffy, sweet, egg whitey, relatively inconsequential (which is probably why the ubiquitous “they” sell it so hard as a “healthy” cake, good for dieters and diabetics – which it is SO not, but whatever). I dressed up my cake with fresh whipped cream and a Brown Butter Banana Rum sauce, accented with fresh local blueberries and yellow raspberries.

Brown Butter Bananas in Rum Sauce

Brown Butter Bananas in Rum Sauce

The berries added a lovely and much needed tang to the all the sweetness

The berries added a lovely and much needed tang to the all the sweetness

Damn!  I am good.  I mean, really good!

Of course, how can you go wrong with butter and booze?  They are the true staples of every chef’s arsenal.

