Oops, I took a bite out of it before putting the gravy on it!

Oops, I took a bite out of it before putting the gravy on it!

Because what you need right after Thanksgiving is a big ol’ roast beef and pastry roasted in fat.  Of course, we are celebrating American National Food Holidays because, sad to say, it seems that Canadians just aren’t as inspired by food as our friends to the south (trust me, I looked – we got nothin’).  So their turkey day isn’t for another month and in that context, it makes perfect sense to have roast beast and pudding as the days grow shorter and colder and we all start to get a yen for comfort food.  Incidentally, the Brits, who originated this delectable delicacy, (duhhhh … Yorkshire!) have their Yorkshire Pudding Day, more sensibly if you ask me, on February 1st.

It’s an incredibly versatile pastry, serving equally well as a conduit for gravy (their primary purpose), a musical inspiration and a marine transport.  Really, it’s a British icon traditionally served with Roast Beast.

The basic premise is that you heat a pan with some fat in it (using a hot oven), throw some sloppy, runny batter into the pan, toss it back in the oven and wait for a bit.  You can find out all about that here.  I didn’t use that recipe though.  I used the one from the Boston Globe cookbook ’cause it looked simpler but I couldn’t find an online version so you can look it up if you’re really that keen.  My roast beef wasn’t done roasting yet ’cause I was busy making jambalaya in my new copper pot that I got for an early birthday present and that was the number one priority, so I didn’t have drippings from the roast, but what I did have was the fat I had skimmed off my ham stock that I had thawed out to use in the jambalaya, so I used that in the pan for the yorkshire puddings.  Looked disgusting, but I was sure it would turn out great and it did.

Hog fat in a muffin tin

Hog fat in a muffin tin

They were really big muffin tins, but I'll admit, the puddin's didn't rise spectacularly well

They were really big muffin tins, but I'll admit, the puddin's didn't rise spectacularly well

Ate my yorkshire pudding on the side of my jambalaya in the company of P and D and a nice Chianti. May have, as it turns out, been too much starch for me.  In any event, then I made gravy with the drippings of the (sadly overdone) roast beef (this is what happens when you have to go put a baby to bed in the middle of making two dinners at the same time) which I made better by adding lots of red wine and shitake and chantrelle mushrooms.  It was a really pretty gravy.

Real Brown Gravy - the chunks are delicious mushroomy bits

Real Brown Gravy - the chunks are delicious mushroomy bits

Right now P is re-creating Angel Food Cake day with a trio of toppings for the leftover cake.  This blog is going to be really bad for our diets!

From top: My brown butter banana rum sauce w/blueberries, with praline ice cream, and with (yech!) vanilla icing out of a tin.

Clockwise from top: My brown butter banana rum sauce w/blueberries, with praline ice cream, and with (yech!) vanilla icing out of a tin.

‘Til next time 🙂

B.

