Today is a “two-fer” day.  We have the guest post of my sister-in-law, N, who loves Candy Corn (I do not) as you will soon see, and all I can tell you about Buy a Doughnut Day is that I did, yesterday, go to Tim Horton’s, that Grand Canadian Institution, and bought a snackpack of Timbits (more variety – I like variety) with the goodly intention of taking pictures of them before I ate them.  Unfortunately, events and my very sick child conspired against me and I never got out the camera.  In fact, I scarfed down my dinner, including my Timbits, and went to bed because the poor little guy couldn’t sleep unless he was being cuddled.  Hence, today’s post is both late and lame (at least on my part – N’s is pretty stellar) AND pictureless (well, except for the picture from the Tim Horton’s Website)

donuts-landing666x209en-fr-us

This is the picture of donuts from the Tim Hortons website.

Candy Corn:

(Editor’s Note:  I did valiantly attempt to buy candy corn last night but the medical clinic next to my usual grocery store [where I happen to know for a fact that they carry candy corn] was full and so I had to take baby G to a different medical clinic and the grocery store there did NOT have candy corn!  I could not believe my eyes – but there you have it!  This is why I don’t normally shop there.  They never have anything I want.)

Candy corn is a seasonal candy which, much to my dismay, only ever makes an appearance during the fall season around Halloween and Thanksgiving. The original candy corn was created in the 1800’s by the Wunderle Candy Company.  It is a delicious confection made mostly of sugar, corn syrup and honey but also includes fondant and marshmallow. Fondant is that creamy sugary blend that one would find in a Cadbury egg for example. If you don’t know what marshmallow is, you’re crazy and have no business reading this blog. How does one recognize this yummy treat? Well, it looks like corn! Shaped just like a corn kernel (or an isoceles triangle) the bottom (which is the small tip) is white, the center is orange and the top is yellow. This is the typical color scheme though some have tried to add new colors and flavours to the original candy corn. Do not be fooled by these impostors! Go for the original!

As a sugar addict who cannot resist sugary temptation when it beckons me, candy corn is my heroin. I can’t help myself and I am ashamed. I can eat it by the pound and still want more. What is the appeal you ask? I will tell you. Clearly, candy corn is not chocolate but it is sugary goodness nonetheless and therefore will always have a special place reserved for it in my belly. It is not a hard candy but neither is it soft. It is perfect with its kernel-sized, perfect balance of squishy, melt in your mouth delectability. It accommodates every candy lover’s, candy expectations. If you like hard candy, you can suck on it until it gloriously dissolves in your mouth. (Although that sounds pretty suggestive). If you are a lover of soft candy you can bite right into it without the threat of a chipped tooth. If labour-intensive candy is what gets you going then you can throw in a mouthful and chew till your jaw hurts since they also have a kind of chewy side to them. If you like to play with your food as most children do, then eat it color by color or from top to bottom. If you enjoy a challenge you can even desperately try to split it right up the middle, dissecting the layers of yellow, orange and white goodness. Sadly, I must inform you however, that nine times out of ten, you will likely fail in that endeavour.  Believe me, I’ve done the leg work on this one. So whatever it is you are looking for in your quest for a sugar fix, look no further than the Halloween decorated bulk aisle of your local grocer where you are bound to find the world’s most perfect candy!

N.

(Editor’s Note 2:  If you want to try making your own Candy Corn, check this out!)

