Well, I’m back from Mexico, unhappily.  I would much preferred to be waking up this morning to a leisurely breakfast followed by a margherita on the beach than to darkness, rain, and … work.  Alas.

As promised, I have posted my recipe for whole-wheat multigrain bread just below this post.  Also, I seemed to have missed my post for Carbonated Beverage with Caffeine Day (November 19). Stay tuned… I’m going to “bonus blog” it when the moment is right.

After RC wrote up his impressive treatise to cappuccino, I was a bit intimidated by espresso day.  I have not sampled the perfect espresso in coffee shops around the world.  I’m not even much of an espresso drinker, but I do have one of those lovely Italian “twist together” espresso makers.

It was given to me by Clermont Boulanger, the father of a family I lived with in Jonquière, Quebec when I was 16 years old.  Every morning, Clermont would make café au lait for my friend Julie and me, to drink on our way to school.  It was the height of luxury.  Clermont gave me the espresso maker as a parting gift and I think about the Boulangers and my amazing, eye-opening time in Quebec every time I use it.

classic espresso maker

In honour of Espresso Day, I busted out my old faithful in the service of… (if you knew me at all, you’d already have guessed it) … an espresso martini.

In Mexico, I often drank one or two of these before dinner.  After drinking margheritas in the sun all day, I was generally a little groggy.  An espresso martini was the perfect solution: no falling asleep in my guacamole!

To make an espresso martini, you need:

  • 1 ½ oz freshly brewed espresso
  • 1 oz perfectly cold vodka (I know there are better kinds, but for mixed drinks, I go with plain ol’ Alberta vodka)
  • 1 oz Kahlúa

Pour espresso over ice in a martini shaker.  Add vodka and Kahlúa.  Shake like hell.  Garnish with a few coffee beans as desired.

Espresso Martini

Cheat: you could always buy a bottle of Van Gogh Double Espresso Vodka and just shake it over ice.  It’s delicious. But I prefer my version.

Eva

