So, as it happens, there was a fair amount of bouillabaise left after yesterday’s cooking extravaganza.  And today was still cold and it actually started (gasp!) snowing late this afternoon, so we decided to stick with the soup theme for dinner and use the leftover bouillabaise as a starter.

I fished out the fish (didn’t want to cook it anymore than it already was) and ended up feeding most of it to G who, in his turn, ended up feeding most of it to the dogs while my back was turned.

I cooked up some chorizo in a frying pan and dumped that into the bouillabaise.  Then I fried some chicken thighs (in bite-size pieces) in some of the oil from the chorizo.  I tossed the chicken into the soup, deglazed the frying pan with a LOT of red wine, added a bunch of fresh chopped parsley, basil and a zucchini, poured more red wine into the soup for good measure and added some water to make it more brothy so I could add (drum roll please) dumplings!

Dumplings:

1 c. flour

1/2 c. milk or water

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

Mix dry ingredients, slowly stir in water or milk, roll into little balls and drop into hot broth or stew, cover and cook for 15 minutes.

P said it was the best soup I have ever made.  And the best part?  There’s enough left over after we made tomorrow’s lunches that we can use it as a base for tomorrow night’s soup.  I’m thinking of going with some more veggies for this one.  Ah bouillabaise!  The gift that keeps on giving …

xoxo B.

