Sorry for the delay!

According to one of my cookbooks, The Big Book of Backyard Cooking, by Betty Rosebottom:

Sangria is one of those quintessentials.  Like the little black dress, Cole Porter, or a VW Beetle, it never seems to go out of style and we never tire of sipping it.

She also says:

The red-wine and fruit-based drink sangria is named for its dark red colour—it is derived from the word sangre, which means “blood” in Spanish.

I really like Sangria.  At summer barbeques, where it rightfully belongs; not as much in the middle of December.

I tried to do some research about Sangria but aside from a bunch of recipes, no one had much to say about it.  I found this at About.com:

Sangria is to the Spanish what punch is to most of the English-speaking world: a great social lubricant at a big house party but something you wouldn’t dream of ordering in a bar. So, bar sangria is aimed almost exclusively at tourists and is charged appropriately – bar owners know foreigners will pay over the odds for sangria as they see it as being ‘Spanish’. You often won’t actually be getting Sangria but tinto de verano with a bit of fruit thrown in. You’re better off making it yourself.

I agree with all of the above, especially the “great social lubricant” part.  At a staff party last summer, my friend Karen and I made a vat of sangria and served it out among our guests.  Next thing you know, it was 3 a.m. and we were still dancing in the living room – with people we wouldn’t necessarily hang with on a given workday.

Below are two of my recipes for sangria.  The first is a more “traditional” red sangria, the second (blasphemy!) is the white sangria I made for myself yesterday.

Sangria

  • 1 bottle dry red wine (I like a bold wine like Spanish rioja or even a California cabernet)
  • juice of 3 oranges, 2 lemons and 2 limes
  • ½ cup fruit nectar (I like apricot, mango, or passionfruit.  Or all 3)
  • 2 ounces brandy
  • 2 ounces Cointreau or Grand Marnier
  • fruit slices: limes, lemons, oranges, melons

Combine.  Serve.  Try to remain upright while dancing.

White Sangria

Maybe Dea can teach me how to photograph food. I suck at this!

Speaking of little black dresses, Jim bought me a pretty one yesterday, for the Christmas season.  A new shop just opened up on Main Street, called “The LBD Store”.  They have sizes from petites to plus, completely reasonably priced.  Cute, cute dresses. Check it out, ladies!  I mixed up just a glass of white sangria and sipped it while doing my makeup and donning said little black dress for a Christmas party.  Dress was a hit, and I was sufficiently “socially lubricated” to relax and have fun…

  • 1 bottle Prosecco
  • 1 cup Ceres litchi juice (I looooove Ceres juices!)
  • ½ cup apricot nectar
  • 4 ounces apricot brandy
  • fruit slices (you see from the picture that I didn’t bother with these.  Would have made a prettier picture but I really like to serve this sangria with a pitted litchi adorning the glass, and I didn’t have any)

xx Eva

