or…

Just for the taste of it!

Due to a slight mishap, we’re not able to bring you Pepper Pot Day as planned, so I’m filling in with an overdue post: My Ode to Diet Coke. This post was actually supposed to go up on November 19, when I was sunning myself in Mexico and completely forgot about it.

Admitting it is the first stage: I am addicted to Diet Coke.  Can’t be Diet Pepsi, can’t be a no-name (the horror!) or knock-off brand.  If I’m asked at a restaurant: “is Diet Pepsi ok?” I will say “no” and order something else.

Random fact: according to Wikipedia, Diet Coke made its U.S. debut on Independence Day in 1982.  No mention of when it first appeared in Canada, but I’m willing to bet soon after.  I was definitely drinking it in junior high, after a brief firtation with Tab (a beautiful drink, for beautiful people).

It’s not like I don’t know it’s bad for me.  I do.  The sweetening agent in Diet Coke is aspartame.  At the very least, it just can’t be good to be consuming that many chemicals.  At the worst, it could, according to some (see also the attached “email chain” to this article), and debunked by others, kill me.

Regardless of the truth (is it out there, Mulder?), it’s not just the caffeine.  I can have a coffee and still want a Diet Coke 10 minutes later.  The convenience store located in my office building sells Diet Coke in 791mL bottles (that’s almost a litre) and I sometimes have 2 bottles a day.  Apparently my addiction is fairly common.  Google “Diet Coke Addiction” and you get 170,000 hits, most of them personal testimonials to their own Diet Coke addiction.

Whatever.

It’s 10:00 p.m. and I have an argument due by 9:00 a.m. the next morning.  I’m cranky as hell, and most of my brain cells seem to have been used up already.  I could have a coffee, but my mouth tastes like crap from the 3 coffees I’ve had already. Plus, I like my coffee with a whole bunch of milk, and I’ve used my calorie quotient for a week with 3 lattes and a whole pile of take-out crap so I can stay in my office and write.

or…

It’s 9 a.m. and I have a killer hangover.  The thought of hot coffee with milk is enough to send me over the edge.  What I want is cool refreshment.

The answer to both is the same.  I need a DC.

I sometimes use the empty bottles as water bottles. An even bigger health risk!

That’s all I have to say.

~Eva

