How much does anyone want to know about apricots?  If you’re really that interested, Wiki has a write-up about them (of course).  Did you know that apricot means “precious” in Latin?  I’m sceptical, but that’s what this website says. Anyone speak Latin?

I’m sure apricots are someone’s favourite fruit, somewhere, but to be quite honest, I prefer them dried, canned, or fermented (i.e. as alcohol). [Interjection from Diana: “What?? I love apricots!!]

There’s something off-putting about fuzzy fruit, in my opinion (defend your fuzzy fruit, Di: I challenge you).  And what is with “apricot preserves” appearing in 9 out of 10 slow cooker recipes, anyway? Really, check it out yourself.  Google “slow cooker recipes” and do a quick scan.  I can tell you that none of my regular recipes include apricot preserves, so why should I throw them into my slow cooker chicken?

I’m just saying.

I often snack on dried apricots during my half marathon training runs.  You can only swallow so much Gu before it won’t go down anymore.  And I don’t want to hear any jokes about that, either.

Like B, I’m tired of all things sweet, mostly because I don’t much like them anyway.  Add Christmas-gorgefest-season into the mix, and I’m altogether done.  So no beautiful baked apricot anything, dear readers.

I’m always up for a drink, though.  In fact, based on what’s coming up, it’s looking to be a boozy blogging month for me.  Fun!

A bit of internet research reveals that most mixed apricot drinks involve apricot brandy, orange juice, lemon juice and gin or voddy.  This one looked especially good, but as much as I love you folks, I’m not spending $70 on ingredients just to drink an apricot cocktail for this blog.  Look up the rest of the drink recipes yourselves; I’m getting tired of hyperlinks already.  I find a page completely littered with hyperlinks somewhat irritating to read, don’t you?

So, here is my creation:

  • 1 1/2 oz apricot brandy
  • 1 oz Bombay Sapphire Gin
  • 1 oz lemon juice
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • splash apricot nectar

Shake brandy, gin and juices over ice until really, really cold.  Pour into martini glass. Drizzle in some apricot nectar (it should settle on the bottom).  Enjoy.

How did Africa get into the glass?

In the end, it was good! Sort of a zippy taste; the pine-i-ness of the gin complemented the apricot; it wasn’t overly sweet.  I would drink this again (good thing; I have an entire mickey of apricot brandy).

xx Eva

P.S.  I wish Deanna was here to take a better picture.  It was better than it looked.  😦

P.P.S.  I had to wring the ounce of gin out of Jim. He hates to share; especially for a mixed drink.  Whatever.

