Today’s National Chocolate Cake Day. Yesterday was “Deanna can start to eat eggs again day!” Of the two, I’m most excited about later (everyone, give my Naturopath a “Woot!”). In fact, B and I went out to breakfast this morning, just for the sole purpose of enjoying some eggs together.

Because of yesterday’s advancement, I am now able to entertain you with a recipe for dairy-free (but egg-tastic!) chocolate cake.

NOTE OF CAUTION #1: I AM NOT A BAKER.

As you’ll remember, I should not be in charge of food on this list that involves baking. Really. So while you will see my cake was pretty, it was also a little… meh. I swear I [mostly] followed the recipe, so I think that’s where the blame should lay.

NOTE OF CAUTION #2: EVERYTHING TASTES BETTER WITH BUTTER.

If you’re not dairy-impaired like me, kindly ignore the proffered recipe, and take your chocolate cravings over to the One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe we posted about earlier. Just trust me on this one.

Ok, ok, enough finger pointing. It’s better to be positive, right? Thus:

FUN THING #1: BUNDT CAKES
Go on, say it out loud. “Bundt”. The “d’ is silent, but Sarah and I like to pretend we’re german or swiss or something and pronounce it with an accent, a long ooooo and a hard T…. “BooondT.” What’s better than chocolate cake? BOOOONDT CAKE!!

FUN THING #2: ICING BAGS
I bought an icing bag to help me gussy up my mini Baked Alaska (coming soon to this blog!) this weekend. I’ve never owned one before (please see Note of Caution #1), and so it was a new fun experience for me to make swirls and loops and rosebuds, etc. So I may have over done it a little. I think my cake has personality…. much like those ugly christmas sweaters have”personality”.

nope, not done yet

note the use of *three!* different tips on the icing bag... oooh ahh.

