A Brandy Alexander is a drink.  A “foofie martini”, if you will.  To make a Brandy Alexander, you fill a martini shaker ½ full with ice, then pour in 1½ ounces brandy, 1 ounce dark crème de cacao and 1 ounce half-and-half cream.  Then you shake the shit out of it and top it with some nutmeg.

Jim made me a Brandy Alexander while I did the prep for Lauren’s Cashew Chicken (it’s really, really good and as quick to prepare as Lauren says it is; I added 2 diced bell peppers and some diced sweet onion at the end to bulk it up a bit).

Lauren's Cashew Chicken (with peppers & onions)

I just happened to have some whole nutmeg on hand, so I pulled out my rasp and blessed my foofie-tini with some freshly grated nutmeg. And the result was… DELICIOUS!  I must admit to being completely surprised.  I thought it would taste, well, gak.  I’m not a huge fan of crème de cacao, light or dark.  Since my liquor store doesn’t sell crème de cacao in micky size (who drinks this stuff?), I am now the proud owner of a GIANT bottle of dark crème de cacao (less one ounce).  Any suggestions, folks?  Glazed chicken, maybe?

Okay, back to my BA.  Very, very good.  In fact, the crème de cacao might get a little help along: I would have one of these again!  It was surprisingly refreshing.  The brandy was the strongest note but it was (also surprisingly) quite light-tasting.

Go ahead.  Give it a try. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

Brandy Alexander with freshly grated nutmeg

In case you were curious, some wiki-nerd has collected a number of popular media references to BAs (couldn’t decide: is the plural “Brandy Alexanders” or “Brandies Alexander”?  Discuss).

On other notes, I’m still waiting for my niece or nephew to make his/her grand appearance.  2 days overdue and counting.  Will keep you posted.

xx Eva

