A day dedicated to a cake that sounds like it might be healthy, but in reality . . . not a chance. Not the good ones anyway. Lots of butter or oil, sugar and of course some rich cream cheese icing smothered over the whole thing makes it one of my favorite desserts. Tomorrow is my husband’s birthday and I have a carrot to bake. I baked a carrot cake for each one of my son’s first birthdays. I remember ordering six carrot cakes from Calories (an institution in Saskatoon) for our wedding almost fifteen years ago. My Mom made her famous version for my cousin’s wedding cake a few years back. My Mom’s carrot cake is moist and dense and I love it because it has lots of spice and some crushed pineapple to make it extra moist. The cinnamon in the cream icing is the perfect topping. Buy some premium vanilla ice cream and you are ready for any special occasion. I know everyone has this recipe in their folder or trusted cookbook, but try this one and you might just have a new favorite.

Landing Carrot Cake

2 c flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl and make a well in the centre.

Beat together the following and add to dry:
1 3/4 c sugar
1 c oil
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla

Lastly, fold/stir in to the batter:

2 c shredded carrots
1/2 c coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
3/4 c walnuts
1 scant cup crushed pineapple (squeeze out liquid first)

Bake in 13×9″ pan (or 2 8″ rounds for a tiered cake) that has been dusted with flour. Bake at 350F for 45-60 minutes.

Creamy Carrot Cake Frosting
3 oz cream cheese
1/4 c butter
2 c icing sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
a sprinkle of cinnamon (or more for taste)

Beat cream cheese and butter together. Add icing sugar in increments and beat until smooth. Add vanilla and cinnamon. Makes about 1.5 cups.


via Saskatchewan,
J

