Ok, straight up, I’m just back from Mexico, and this very very important week in the yearly calendar ( I *heart* sauerkraut) kind of escaped my attention (do margaritas effect your memory!?). So I have not prepared a feast of F&K for your eyes tonight… but I think I can offer a very strong consolation prize in the form of my grandma’s sauerkraut recipe.

But first some factoids:

Sauerkraut is made by a process of pickling called fermentation that is analogous to how traditional (not heat-treated) pickled cucumbers and kimchi are made. Fully-cured sauerkraut keeps for several months in an airtight container stored at or below 15°C. Neither refrigeration nor pasteurization is required,

Raw sauerkraut is extremely healthy. It is an excellent source of vitamin C, lactobacilli, and other nutrients. Studies suggest that fermented cabbage may be even more healthy than the raw vegetable, with increased levels of anti-cancer agents.

During World War I, due to concerns the American public would reject a product with a German name, American sauerkraut makers relabeled their product as “Liberty cabbage” for the duration of the war. (Maybe with a side of Freedom Fries?)

And now back to that recipe.

There’s good news, and bad news.

The Good News: This gorgeous woman, being my Gran, is a kraut-maker extraordinare! Here she is in my grandpa’s butcher shop, making Kraut with me a few years ago:

The Bad News: For the last two weeks she’s been in Mexico, doing this:

So my promise to you dear readers, is that as soon as my Gran is over today’s jet lag, I’ll have her share her Kraut recipe. I know some of the secrets (for example, you want late season, old cabbage!), but not all of them. So stay tuned to this space – Kraut Nirvana is coming…

~D

ps – By the way, it’s also Cream Cheese Brownie Day, but I exercised and option to blog about the weekly goodness instead of giving you another brownie recipe…

