Ahem, may I say first, CONGRATULATIONS, Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir on your Olympic gold medal!  First ever Canadian gold in Ice Dance – and the youngest, too! Woot!

I’m not even a real fan of ice dance, but I watched their last two performances, and even I was converted.

Price of admission for Ross Hockey House Rib Night. Must sing "Oh Canada" on command.

Okay, back to banana bread.

What did people do with their leftover bananas before they invented banana bread?  I’m one of those people who can’t eat a banana if there’s even one tiny spot of brown on it.  I like my bananas a little green, actually, which is probably not even good for me.  I think it’s the smell.  I don’t actually want my bananas to smell like bananas.  If it weren’t for banana bread, I would likely throw out my body weight in bananas every year.  Between bananas and eggs, I think I have issues.

Whenever my bananas get a little too greebly (i.e. Jim has given up on them, too), I throw them in the freezer.  From time to time I open my freezer, and the frozen bananas, having bred and multiplied, jump out and try to bruise my toes.  Then I make banana bread.

Jim likes banana bread.

This is my most recent successful recipe:

Banana Bread
1 ½ C whole wheat flour
1 C unbleached flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
¼ C wheat germ
¼ C flax seeds
¼ C + 2 T apple sauce
2 T butter (at room temperature)
1 C brown sugar
3 large eggs
4 very ripe bananas, peeled and mashed (if you’ve frozen them, they must be completely thawed)
¼ C 2% yoghurt (I use Liberty Organic)
½ C chopped walnuts, toasted
½ C semi-sweet chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Spray 9×5” pyrex loaf pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In a non-stick pan over medium heat, toast wheat germ until browned.  Stir constantly so it doesn’t burn.  Remove from heat, and combine with flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and flax seeds in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl or in the bowl of your stand mixer, cream together the sugar, applesauce and butter.
  4. Add the eggs one at a time, beat until well mixed.
  5. Add yoghurt & beat again.
  6. Add ½ of flour mixture and mix until well-combined.
  7. Add ½ of mashed bananas and mix again.  Repeat with remainder of flour and bananas.
  8. Stir in walnuts and chocolate chips (quickly but don’t stir too many times).
  9. Pour into loaf pan.  Bake for 1 hour to 1:15 (done when a toothpick comes out clean after inserted).
  10. Cool bread in pan for 20 minutes.  Run a knife along the edges then gently tip the bread out of the pan onto a rack.  Cool completely before cutting.

Olympic update (because I know you care)

I have so far been to two hockey games: women’s U.S. / Russia and men’s Russia / Slovakia.  There’s been a bit of bitching in the media about women’s hockey being a two-team sport and some suggestion that it should not be in the Olympics because of that.  You know what I have to say.  F*ck that.  There are a NUMBER of countries with excellent hockey programs (think Russia, for starters), whose women go out there and despite playing their hearts out, look like amateurs next to Canada and the U.S.  The reason for that is investment.  In their own countries.  In women’s hockey.  Despite all the hype, we don’t necessarily “breed” better female hockey players here.  We just invest in them from a young age.  We support them, not as well as we support our boys, but we’re getting there.  The other countries, instead of bitching, could try doing the same.  Or shut the hell up.

U.S. scores a goal

That’s all.

xx Eva

