C is for COOKIE, that’s good enough for me…  

RAISIN!!! Oatmeal Cookies!

  

Today is also national “lacy” oatmeal cookie day.  

C’mon.  

Sort of defeats the purpose of a good, hearty oatmeal cookie, doesn’t it?  

Admit it: Oatmeal is the beige second cousin to “Fruit Loops” and other colourful, exciting and sugary breakfast cereal.  You know and I know that Fruit Loops is a flash in the satisfaction pan – oatmeal doused with some maple syrup and milk is creamy and delicious and stays in your stomach for waaay longer – but let’s face it.  With its multi-coloured “Os”, Fruit Loops has a clear advantage in instantaneous satisfaction delivery.  There’s nothing “lacy” about oatmeal.  

But. I loooooove raisin oatmeal cookies.  Yep, I’m that one chick at the coffee shop that foregoes the “chocolate pecan” and “double chocolate walnut chocolate decadence with chocolaty chocolate sauce” cookie.  I have oatmeal every time.  Frankly, I’m even disappointed when the coffee shop’s baker puts chocolate in my oatmeal cookies.  What’s the point?  It’s akin to putting chocolate syrup on oatmeal.  

I’m just sayin’.  

Jim, on the other hand, does not believe a cookie is worth his time without chocolate.  When I told him I was making cookies for this blog, he was all, “cool!” (expecting, of course, a version of chocolate chip cookies).  He balked, however, when I mentioned oatmeal.  “Couldn’t you just make some chocolate-chip-no-oatmeal-cookies?” he asked plaintively.  Nope.  

I’m a good wife but not that good.  I make one cookie dough.  Insert raisins or chocolate chips as desired.  That’s all.  

Well, okay I made one cookie dough but because I love me too, I divided it in half and stirred raisins into my half, and chocolate chips (what’s the point?) into Jim’s.  He was happy.  

My oatmeal cookies (makes 3 doz-ish):  

Preheat oven to 350°  

Put 2 C raisins in a bowl (0nly 1 C if dividing dough in half for picky husband).  Cover with boiling water. Stir briefly and cover with a plate.  Let sit for at least half an hour.  Drain thoroughly and pat dry with paper towel.  (Don’t skip this step. The cookies are soooo much better if you hydrate the raisins!)  

Sift:  

  • 2 1/2 C oats
  • 1 C + 2 T unbleached flour
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C flax seeds (just randomly, for some added nutrition)
  • 1/3 C chopped pecans (or really any nut.  You could add up to a cup, actually)
  • 1 T baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Cream 1 1/2 C butter in large bowl (electric or stand mixer)
Add 1 1/2 C brown sugar & mix thoroughly
Add 2 eggs, 1 at a time, and blend
Add 2 tsp vanilla extract and 1 T scotch, brandy or rum.  Blend thoroughly.
Stir flour mixture into butter/sugar mixture.
Stir in raisins (or divide dough in two and stir raisins into one half and chocolate chips into the other).
Form into golf-ball sized pieces (about 8 to a cookie sheet).  Squish slightly.
Bake for 15 minutes, pull cookies out of oven and allow to cool on sheet for 2 minutes.  Remove to a cooling rack.  

Mmmm. That’s all.  

~ Eva  

P.S.  Yes, that much butter.  Despite all appearances, oatmeal raisin cookies are just as bad for you as every other kind.  Don’t kid yourself.  

P.P.S. Jim says I can’t bring any cookies to work.  I may have to sneak them out of the house.  Neither one of us needs the calories (or the butter fat)!

