Today is National Turkey Neck Soup Day. Enjoy! If you actually made some, that is. I didn’t.

Thankfully it happens to be National Peanut Month, National Noodle Month and National Sauce Month so I have taken this opportunity to use all three and try out a new recipe. I actually chose this recipe because I thought D. had mentioned it was National Bacon Month, but I was mistaken. So for all you shameless bacon eaters (you know who you are) – this post is for you!

I will freely admit that my prowess in the kitchen does not extend to Asian dishes. Anything I try does not seem to come out “right”. I also turn my head when I come across anything that remotely looks like a “stir fry” because I made one too many poor versions in university with one bad frying pan and not enough ingredients. I suppose actually learning how to cook Asian food that I like to eat in a restaurant would require a little education on my part but with a 3 and 5 year old I feel far too lazy. It is easier most days to stick to what I know.

Thankfully the day before I was going to make something up for this blog, I walked out to my mailbox. It is a really cute silver mail box on a red painted post at the edge of the road. The little flag was up, waving to me that something good might be inside. There was! I found the April/May issue of Fine Cooking. I love this magazine. Since having kids that eat what we eat (and not just mush) I have really enjoyed the layout of the magazine. It is more of a teaching or methods magazine that focuses on a few big cooking ideas or recipes. This month featured on the cover ” A Cook’s Guide to Noodles”. In it I found a recipe for chinese egg noodles that requires a paste of garlic, ginger and . . . wait for it . . . . bacon. And of course peanuts and an interesting sauce.

Here we go (check out how many calories in the nutritional info at the end!!!!!):

Chinese Egg Noodles with Five Spice Pork
taken completely without permission from Fine Cooking

Serves 4
1/3 cup salted peanuts
1/4 lb. bacon (3 to 4 thick slices), cut in thin strips
2 medium cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1 2-inch piece ginger, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 cup canola or peanut oil
3/4 lb. ground pork
1/2 tsp. five-spice powder
3 scallions, trimmed and sliced (white and green parts kept separate)
2 Tbs. soy sauce
1 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbs. Asian sesame oil
2 tsp. white vinegar
1 tsp. granulated sugar
3/4 lb. fresh Chinese-style egg noodles (make sure you don’t buy the ones that just add “color” to make them yellow. You want real egg noodles)

Bring a medium pot of well-salted water to a boil. Meanwhile, coarsely chop the peanuts in a food processor. Transfer to a small bowl. Put the bacon, garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes in the food processor and pulse to finely chop.

Heat the oil in a heavy-duty 12-inch skillet over medium heat. Add the bacon mixture and cook, breaking it apart with a spoon until the bacon renders most of its fat and darkens somewhat, about 4 minutes. Raise the heat to medium high and add the pork, five-spice powder, and 1/4 tsp. salt. Cook, breaking up the meat with a spoon, until it loses all of its raw color, about 3 minutes. Stir in the scallion whites, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, sesame oil, vinegar, and sugar. Keep warm over low heat.

Cook the noodles in the boiling water, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 3 minutes. Drain and put in a large bowl; toss in the pork mixture. Portion among 4 bowls, sprinkle with the peanuts and scallion greens, and serve.

nutrition information (per serving):
Calories (kcal): 820; Fat (kcal): 50; Fat Calories (g): 450; Saturated Fat (g): 11; Protein (g): 32; Monounsaturated Fat (g): 24; Carbohydrates (g): 61; Polyunsaturated Fat (g): 10; Sodium (mg): 1560; Cholesterol (mg): 130; Fiber (g): 4;

Usually I only see ground pork around Christmas time when Mom makes tourtiere . . .

Mmmmm . . . . the bacon paste.

Oh who am I kidding, that little steamed bok choy will not make all the calories go away.

It was yummy. And the ingredients added at the end make for a tanginess I was not expecting. I finally made an Asian dish I liked, too bad it is so bad for you. Oh well, there are several more noodle recipes to try.

via Saskatchewan,

J.

