Depending on what time of day you are reading this, I could be in any number of places. I could be tucked into a CRJ, flying westward at 6am. Maybe I’m finally eating some breakfast at Bubba Rosie’s [er, that’s “Bubby Rose’s”!-Ed.] or walking by the sea . . . . . with my sweet sister, D!!!! Every time I visit “Auntie D.” it seems like it is more work to leave the hubby and the kids than staying home, but I wouldn’t get some quality time with my younger sister and a much needed break as well. Better make some cookies for “Guy Weekend” as it has been so aptly named (I’m the only female in the house) because it might very well be the healthiest thing they eat for the next three days.

Some facts about the following recipe:

I probably make these cookies at least every two weeks. Grandma (that is Florence or Mrs. Pulvermacher for the rest of you) has been making them since . . . well, I do not remember. Forever! These oatmeal cookies have always been around. The whole family makes them. They are chewy and soft with a lovely coconut and vanilla scent. They are THE most requested recipe in my collection. I send this recipe as a baby gift. A friend of mine just made them for the first time as she needs to put on a few pounds for her next round of chemo. I have brought them on canoe/camping trips and they pack well. If you make them large enough you don’t need lunch. The only people that do not like these cookies are people who do not like coconut. We have to store these in the freezer so you don’t eat the whole batch in two days. The three and five year old eat one (sometimes two) frozen cookies a day. I’m sure I do not have to tell you they taste better made with butter. What can I say? These cookies are good for impressing friends and intimidating other people Last, but not least, these cookies have sentimental value and that is why I can’t bake any other. It is easy to memorize – just take a look.

Grandma’s Oatmeal cookies

Grease three cookie sheets. Preheat oven to 350F.

2 c flour
2 c brown sugar (lightly packed)
2 c unsweetened coconut
2 c oats (not quick oats)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1 c chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients in a big bowl (just use your hands, it is easier!)

Melt 1 c of butter and mix 2 tsp vanilla into the butter. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add butter/vanilla mixture. Crack 2 eggs in the bowl and mix it all together. Again, just use your hands. Make the dough into golf ball sized balls – I usually get 12 onto a cookie sheet for a total of 36. Press them down a little with your hand into thick hockey pucks. Bake for about 10-15 minutes until golden brown.

Sometimes I add another egg if the dough seems to dry. Depends on what kind of cookie you like.

Okay, they are not as old as the oatmeal biscuits Roman soldiers used to travel with however I am sure they taste far better. Today is also apparently raisin day but there is no way I am putting raisins in these cookies. I’m sure they taste good but it is just not right.

via Victoria! Wohoooo!!!
J

