Good morning from Cancun!  Sorry I’m a little late this morning – last night we partied like it was 1999.  

When I saw gazpacho on the list, I thought “how silly; gazpacho should be in late summer!”  Having been here for a week, I now think it’s perfect.  Especially since I’ve eaten it almost every day.  Nonetheless, the pictures I’m sharing here are from Canada not Cancun.  B & Dea are going to kill me (and Jim is especially going to kill me), but it seems that I lost our camera somewhere between the Mayan ruins and the hotel. Oops.

You heard it here first, folks.  I’m a gazpacho cheater.  My “secret” is V8.  I think it makes the gazpacho richer, and the salt is a bonus too.  Without further ado, here’s my cheater gazpacho.  I hope you enjoy!  Me, I’m off for a little breakfast mimosa. 

xx Eva (via Cancun)

P.S. I’m having a little trouble with the pictures, though, so I’m going to have to ask one of my lovely co-bloggers to help me out.  Stay tuned, they’ll be up soon…

Gazpacho

1 large red bell pepper
1 large yellow bell pepper
2 hot red chilies
2 slices good quality bread
1/2 C sweet onion
10 sprigs Italian parsley, leaves only
1 clove garlic
3 ripe red tomatoes
2 ripe yellow tomatoes
1/2 long English cucumber
1/4 C red wine vinegar
2 T good-quality extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 C V-8
1 tsp salt (or more to taste)
1 ripe avocado

so pretty in the oven!

broil the peppers
Place rack at the top of oven and turn on the broiler.  Trim the stems off the bell peppers and place all peppers on a piece of tinfoil (or on a cookie sheet) under the broiler.Check the peppers often.
Using a pair of tongs, turn the peppers as they blacken, blackening the skin on all sides.
Remove the peppers from the oven into a plastic zip-loc bag and seal it.  Leave for 10 minutes.

blackened & beautiful

make the breadcrumbs
Chop the bread into chunks.  Don’t bother to pull off the crust.  Place the bread into the bowl of a food processor and pulse until it starts to crumb.  Process until panko-sized crumbs form.  Pour into a bowl and set aside.

chop the onions and parsley
Cut the onion into large chunks and put in the food processor with the parsley.  Finely chop.  Pour into a large bowl (this is the bowl you’ll combine the soup in) and set aside.

garlic, peppers and red tomatoes
Toss the garlic into the food processor and whizz until finely chopped.Pull the peppers out of the zip-loc bag and pull off the charred skin (they should be very easy to peel).
Seed the peppers and throw them in the food processor with the garlic and whiz until liquefied.
Core and quarter the tomatoes and add them to the peppers.  Puree until “mostly” smooth.  Pour tomatoes / peppers into the bowl with the onions and parsley.  Refrigerate.

yellow tomatoes and cucumbers
Dice the tomatoes and cucumber into 1/4 inch dice.  Stir together, then add all but 1 C to gazpacho.  Set the rest aside for garnish.

finish the soup
Stir in the vinegar, olive oil, V-8 and salt.  Add about 3/4 C of the reserved breadcrumbs and stir again.
Refrigerate overnight or at least a couple of hours or so until the breadcrumbs are soft and the gazpacho is cold.Garnish with reserved cucumber and cucumber, and diced avocado.

Mmmmm.

