I did not have a long blog planned for Applesauce Cake Day in the first place, but a violently ill three year old has suddenly turned this into an even shorter cake report. I have just a few comments on today’s topic. First, who makes this calendar anyway? Applesauce cake in June? I make this all the time in the fall, when apples are plentiful and the coolness in the air makes you think of something dense and spicy like this cake. Second, I could not find anything regarding the history of applesauce cake. I tried. I imagine it has some German roots and possibly a past linked to the settlers in North America creating their own desserts from what was on hand. Third, if you have never tasted an applesauce cake, you should! Moist, dense and with lots of spice. This cake is great with just a little bit of ice cream or a dollop of whip cream.

I just started making this regularly when I found a recipe for applesauce cake in one of the last issues of Gourmet magazine (RIP). I am always looking for those recipes that are somewhat healthy yet still qualify as dessert in my kid’s minds. I have changed it a bit adding more spice and usually some raisins. I would like to try it with brown butter on an occasion of craving something really rich! Don’t forget to make the cinnamon cream cheese frosting in the link to Gourmet below. Enjoy:

Spiced Applesauce Cake (adapted from Gourmet magazine):

1 c. all-purpose flour
1c. whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 c. packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
1/2 c raisins (optional)
1/2 c. walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Whisk together the first seven (dry) ingredients. Beat butter and brown sugar and vanilla in a large bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy – about 2 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, then add applesauce. On low speed, add in flour mixture until just combined. Stir in nuts and raisins, if using.

Spread batter into a buttered 8 or 9 inch square pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes (check with a wooden toothpick) until golden brown.

Frost if desired! You could also sprinkle with icing sugar.

via Saskatchewan,

J

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

