Welcome to a perfect combination: Peanut Butter and Chocolate. I capitalize those words because in my world of cookies, it is a very, very good marriage of all things sweet and savoury. I realize that for many people peanut butter cookies do not usually include chocolate. They should. Its not that I don’t enjoy the American classic peanut butter cookie with it’s smart looking fork tine pattern on top, I just find you could make them a little healthier most of the time. Especially when you think of all the different types of P.B. out there. I bake cookies once a week so I try to have some sort of healthy ingredient in the mix. Maybe this weekend you have a little time for baking and your eye might look this way . . .

I had trouble deciding which recipe to pick, but in the end an Epicurious.com classic won out. The runners up are also something you might be interested in:

Healthy Peanut Butter Cookies (which uses natural peanut butter)
Chunky Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies with Fleur de Sel (with peanut butter and roasted peanuts!)

The following recipe has been adapted from “Jose’s Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies” on Epicurious.com. Over 200 people have posted reviews for this recipe and they have a huge following! I love reading everyone’s reviews along with their adaptations so the following recipe is a result of a bunch of cooks hashing out their ideas. Enjoy!

1 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup of peanut butter (I have tried natural, Kraft, Kraft light, etc. with no problems)
2 large eggs
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
12 oz of chocolate chips
8 oz of semisweet chocolate, grated (I usually leave this out because I am in a hurry and just add more chips)

Pulse 1 cup of oats in a food processor until finely ground. In a large bowl stir the first 6 ingredients, including the ground and not ground oats. In another large bowl beat the sugars and butter with an electric mixer until fluffy and light. Beat in vanilla and peanut butter. Beat in eggs one at a time and then applesauce. Gradually add the flour mixture. Add chocolate chips and grated chocolate until just combined. Chill cookie dough, covered at least 2 hours and up to 1 week.

Preheat oven 325F.

Drop by rounded teaspoons (or tablespoon if you are like me!) on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten them slightly if they very stiff. Bake in the middle of the oven until golden – about 15min.

Makes about 36 large cookies when dropping my the tablespoon.

The five year old’s eyeballs rolled back in this head when he saw the mountain of chocolate chips!

Kitchen Buddha smiling with me at I put them in the oven.

Quickly looking for an icy cold glass of milk . . .

via Saskatchewan,
J

