*Ring, ring.*

Whatchya doin’?
Cleaning, maybe working out.
My spidey senses are tingling that perhaps you don’t realize it is National Cherry Tart day tomorrow.
On MY calendar it says Friday, the 18th.
Nope, its tomorrow.
(Quickly check calendar on website and see that National Cherry Tart Day is listed on both the 17th and 18th. Crap.) Good thing I bought “some” ingredients at the store.
You should make a galette. They are pretty and easy. I’m really into them right now.
Nah, I want to make a cherry custard tart. I have whipping cream in my fridge . . .

Thank goodness siblings have spidey senses. Thank goodness I have some pie dough in the freezer from National Quiche Lorraine Day. I set it on the counter and get busy quickly making a cherry and peach galette. Sometimes little sisters are right. (It is a very rare occurrence). If you have never had a galette, do so. All you need in some pie dough (hand made), some fruit and a cookie sheet. An oven is probably a good idea, too.

A galette in pictures:

Pick a fruit. Seeing it is National Cherry Tart Day, I have some cherries. What I don’t have is a cherry pitter. What I do have is a very sharp knife and many hours of practice cleaning fish so I proceed to filet the cherries. Not the quickest method and there is some wastage, but a girl has to do what a girl has to do:

The cherry pits look like little, tiny purple carrots because of their triangular shape:

I rolled out the pie dough to about 1/4″ thick and placed it on some parchment paper on my baking sheet. I spread three small sliced peaches, about 2 cups of pitted cherries, 1 tablespoon of sugar, a sprinkling of cinnamon and about 1 tablespoon of butter (in slivers) on top of the fruit. Then I drizzled about 1 tablespoon of buckwheat honey on the mound of fruit:

To make a galette you just fold the pastry, wet the crease with a brushing of water and pinch it down. Go all the way around until it looks something like this (the great thing about galettes is that they are supposed to look rather messy):

Bake in a 350F oven for about 30-45 minutes until golden and bubbling. Drool.

If you are able, wait until it cools a bit and then serve with vanilla ice cream or just a big dollop of whipped cream.

It must be a law of the Universe (which applies to kitchens everywhere) that things done on the fly always turn out very well and the only ones there to taste them are your kids!

via Saskatchewan,
J

