Who drinks Anisette anymore? When did people drink anisette?  Why?

According to Wikipedia, “Anisette is made by macerating 16 different seeds and plants and blending the maceration with a neutral spirit and sugar syrup”.  It is mostly consumed in places like France, Italy, Portugal, Mexico and Spain.

Try finding it in downtown Vancouver on Canada Day-eve.

After consuming 2 bottles of champagne (but not the can), Della and I wandered over to the Gerard Room at the Sutton Place. It’s one of my favourite lounges: quiet, dark, filled with overstuffed furniture.  A great place to talk politics and solve all of the world’s problems. Della and I discussed the recent G20 fiasco at length (maybe not a topic for this blog).

Unlike other liqueur tastings, I wasn’t all that keen on buying an entire bottle of Anisette to throw in my liquor cabinet.  I thought it would be a waste of money. Della had a suggestion: “do you remember tiger’s-eye ice cream? Did you like it? Why don’t you ask them to make you an Anisette and orange liqueur martini.

So they did.

Tiger's Eye Martini at the Gerard Room

It was a little light on the orange but otherwise passably drinkable.

Then we went over to Joey’s, where I had a can of champagne. I liked that more, even if everyone (including the waitress) laughed at me.

Sofia in a can

~ Eva

