This is not Caesar Salad. It's not Apple Turnover, either.

Well, actually it’s National Apple Turnover Day, but I already told everyone that I was going to talk about Caesar Salad.

So here I am. Except, as you’ve probably noticed, the picture above is neither caesar salad nor apple turnover.

I have an explanation. In related (sort of) news, I bought a camera today. Which means fewer shitty phone camera pictures on this blog. Except the ones I’ve taken already.

Sorry about that.

So I did make a caesar (potato) salad, topped with some grilled fish:

It was delicious. First you mash 3 cloves of garlic in a mortar and pestle. Then you add some fleur de sel or other course salt and mash again. The salt acts as its own mortar so the garlic turns to paste.Then you add several anchovies and mash again. Then some olive oil, mustard (keep mashing), pepper and capers.

Then you scoop the whole mess out into a bowl and whisk in the juice of 2 lemons, some sugar (just a pinch), and some olive oil.  Maybe some red wine vinegar.

In the meantime, dice and cook some potatoes. Dice radishes, chop sweet onions (into small-ish pieces), heirloom tomatoes and parsley, that kind of thing.

Toss the dressing with the veggies.

Yum.

lots of anchovy!

And buy a G-D camera, Eva.

So, I did.

P.S. the risotto was lobster. Jim had it with steak. I thought it turned out pretty well.

