Good morning! I’m announcing right now that this is the last "phone camera" picture you have to put up with. I took this picture the same day I bought my new camera.
Just got back from Texas last night (how y’all doin?). It’s funny how you don’t really get good eggs when you’re on the road. Mostly my breakfasts consisted of whatever I could rustle up in an airport lounge. Not really worth mentioning here. One morning there was complimentary breakfast at my hotel. I looked askance at the really white looking oatmeal (?) until I figured out that it was gravy. For the biscuits.
Well, I was in Texas after all.
So, eggs. You’ve heard a lot about eggs on this blog. I don’t need to get into the whole religious symbolism, etc. Instead, I’ll just describe the breakfast I made for Jimmy the other day: a kind of Benny (not an omelette, per the blog title).
You know Bennies can be healthi-er if you just try. Instead of Hollandaise, I made a lemony Bearnaise sauce. Much less fat.

  1. Add 1C milk, 1 large slice of onion, 1 bay leaf and 1/4 tsp lemon zest to a small pot. Bring just to a simmer, then turn off (in the olden days, this was known as "scalding" the milk) and let sit for 15 minutes. Strain the milk and set aside.
  2. Melt 1T butter in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. Whisk in 1T flour and cook for 1-2 minutes, whisking constantly. Whisk in reserved milk. Cook, whisking frequently, for about 20 minutes or until sufficiently thickened. Whisk in the juice of 1 lemon, a few drops of Tabasco and salt & pepper to taste. Voila: Bearnaise.

Then I toasted up some lovely Asiago Bread from Terra Breads (mmm). I also browned some pancetta for Jim (I had lox on mine). I layered on a couple of poached eggs and topped with my hot Bearnaise.
Have we talked about poached eggs on here? They’re something many people say is easy but it took me years to figure out how. My method is as follows:

  1. Bring about 4 inches of water to boil in a large, shallow pot. Reduce to medium-low and whisk in 1T white vinegar.
  2. Crack each egg separately into a small dish. Gently tip the dish into the simmering water, 1 egg at a time.
  3. Cook for about 4 minutes for a runny yolk.
  4. Cook for about 8 minutes for perfectly hard.
  5. You get the idea.

So, all of my eggs are definitely not in one omelette. And to steal a story from Diana, how do you like your eggs? I like my eggs "spicy".
~ Eva

