Funny how we automatically associate certain tastes, smells, foods and drinks with certain people or situations, isn’t it?

Take Grand Marnier. Instantly, my lovely friend Terina springs to mind. She introduced me to Grand Marnier when she used it as a “cold remedy” in university (* kaff * * kaff * I think I need a Grand Marnier). Her parents are the original “Snow Birds” and would pick up a bottle for her on the way home from Arizona. Terina would share some with me whenever I wandered through Calgary on my way home from Vancouver. I’ve had an enduring love for Grand Marnier (coupled with an enduring “cough”) ever since.

Funny how you get ideas in your head, isn’t it? For the longest time, I believed that Grand Marnier was made by suspending an orange over a vat of cognac (scent osmosis, I guess). Who the heck knows where I got that idea, but it wouldn’t really work, would it? The angels would get far more than their share. In fact, they’d be well and truly smashed!

Instead, Grand Marnier is made by blending cognac with the distilled essence of the peel of the “Citrus bigaradia” (a bitter orange from the Caribbean). Take a look at the Grand Marnier website (it’s actually a pretty fun website) for more info.  There’s also a history lesson here.

For National Grand Marnier day, I decided to spice things up a bit with a cocktail. In the end, though, I decided to combine two of my very, very favourite things in a “Grand Mimosa”, which according to the website is made with 3/4 oz Grand Marnier, 1 oz fresh-squeezed orange juice, and 3 oz chilled champagne.

I had some pink sparkling wine leftover and decided to use grapefruit instead of orange

Terina and I have now been friends for 22 years. What better way to celebrate an enduring friendship than with a bit of bubbly and a university cold remedy?

Grand Mimosa. In the end, I prefer the purity of the "cold remedy". Give me a snifter of warm GM any day.

Cheers to my Spun Gold friend from your Corny Silk friend!

I love you, man.

~ Eva

