I know.

I know you don’t want to bake.

It’s hot out, and just being in the kitchen is silly. Turning the oven on to 400f is even sillier.

But, with great sacrifice, comes great reward.

And if you’re really lucky, you get great reward, for only a teeny tiny sacrifice.

This friends, is one of those times.

This “four fork”  Buttermilk Raspberry Cake recipe that I found on Epicurious (of course) is dead dead easy. Just get out your kitchen-aid, and this cake will be ready for the oven in minutes. It continues my interest in deserts with buttermilk – I like the edge it brings to often overly sweet desert. And i *heart* raspberries… they are one of my favourite fruits. I got these fresh from Mitchell’s farm here on the Saanich peninsula.

And the reward is really there – served warm with a little coulis and vanilla ice cream, it’s a whole lot of happy in your mouth. Next time I’ll add a bit of nutmeg or cinnamon, and it will be a true taste of summer.

~Dea

ps – this entire cake was eaten by 4 people in about 10 minutes… don’t plan on leftovers.

