[Eds: Another blog from Sarah on a healthy healthy food…  if you believe that skor bars are one of the food groups!]

The last month or so has been lovely and warm in Vancouver. So lovely and warm that the thought of baking a pecan torte – which, by my research meant two or three layers of cake – was torture. Out of desperation, I googled “frozen pecan torte” and a recipe actually popped up! Hallelujah. Of course, I made it last night and the weather was much cooler but I had never made an ice cream cake so it was a welcome experience nonetheless. I haven’t sampled the completed cake, but I did lick the beater and the spatula and the bowl and what was left on those implements was delicious! It took me about an hour to make and no oven was turned on in the process.

Frozen Butter Pecan Torte (from BigOven)

Crust:
1 1/3 graham wafer crumbs (I tried to buy crumbs but they were out so I made my own – it’s about 20 wafers)
6 tablespoons butter (melted)

Filling:
2/3 cup cold milk
1 pkg instant vanilla pudding
4 cups Butter Pecan Ice Cream (softened – I took it out of the freezer when I started the recipe and that was enough time)
1 cup whipping cream whipped

Topping
2 Skor bars

Crust: combine graham crumbs and melted butter, press into bottom of an ungreased 9″ springform pan. Stick in freezer.

Filling: combine the cold milk and pudding in a mixing bowl and beat on low speed for 2 minutes. Fold in the ice cream and add whipped cream. Spread over crust and top with crushed Skor bar. Freeze until firm. Remove from freezer 15 minutes before serving. Carefully run knife around edge of pan and remove sides.

Eat your heart out DQ.

It was Delicious!  Rave reviews all around. Maybe add pecans and chocolate sauce when you serve it.

~Sarah

