So, have you ever heard of a smooter? Maybe you remember some comments about smooters from my National S’mores Day post.

Let’s face it. There’s only so much you can do with a toasted marshmallow. Everyone has an opinion on how a marshmallow should be perfectly toasted (Della: cremated; me, perfectly browned – see again aforementioned S’mores Day).

We used to make these disgusting, delicious campfire desserts called “banana boats”:

  1. slice a layer of banana peel “almost” off and peel back
  2. slice vertically into the banana, creating a pocket
  3. squish a bunch of chocolate and marshmallows into the banana
  4. put the peel back in place
  5. wrap in tinfoil (tightly) and bake in the coals until mooshy.

Best enjoyed in the dark, when you can enjoy the taste without having to look at the guts-like inside. (It reminds me a bit of the Empire Strikes Back, when Han finds Luke frozen in the snow on Hoth, then slices open the belly of a Tauntaun and stuffs him into its guts. Look: they even have a “Tauntaun with open belly rescue feature” toy. And even more grossly fascinating: a Tauntaun cake with Luke sticking out of its guts…I think I just lost my appetite)

But I digress. As usual.

The best, very best use of marshmallows I have ever enjoyed is a smooter. I’m not even sure which friend of mine came up with the idea; I only know it wasn’t me. I’m assuming my friend also came up with the name, an amalgam of marshmallow and shooter.

Here’s the recipe:

  1. Carefully toast a marshmallow so that the outside is nicely browned and the inside is a liquid glob (this is no place for cremation, Della).
  2. Pull the outside layer off of the marshmallow, creating a “cup” (you can cremate the remainder if you want, Della).
  3. Fill said cup with alcohol.
  4. Smash smooter into your mouth as quickly as possible (it will begin to dissolve immediately).
  5. Plan to wear some of it.
  6. Repeat.

Pour very carefully (keep your headlamp on)

Now, doesn’t that sound fun?

It is fun.

With just a few simple ingredients, you too can have fun, smooter-y deliciousness.

~ Eva

P.S. I would be cautious about eating smooters where there are bears around. See above #5 (plan to wear some of it). Trust me, you’ll smell delicious to them, too.

P.P.S. You’ll notice the pictures are of the process, not the enjoyment. You’ll just have to imagine it. No one looks attractive eating a smooter.

Concentrate!

