Macadamia nuts are evil. Dress ‘em up however you want; you can not hide the fact that they are high fat and not good for you. “Don’t worry!” the producers say, they’re high energy and have no cholesterol! Don’t worry about the saturated fat; it won’t hurt you!

According to this website, 1 cup of macadamia nuts contains 962 calories, 101.5 g of fat (16.2g saturated; 78.9g monounsaturated; not sure where the other 6.4 g of fat comes from).  962 calories is 20 Weightwatchers points. When I did Weightwatchers, I was allowed 20 points per day. That means, if I had 1 C macadamia nuts, I couldn’t eat the rest of the day.

It goes without saying; macadamia nuts are not good for you. And (I’m going to be annihilated for this), they’re not even that good. So why do people eat macadamia nuts?

Ask my brother-in-law, Brad. Bring home a container of white chocolate, macadamia-nut cookies, and even if Brad is full, he’ll sit and eat the entire container. Tears running down his face; the whole bit.

Where does that come from?

I almost, almost bought a container of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Macadamia Nut ice cream.

chocolate macadamia nut

Except that, well, I really don’t like macadamia nuts. To me they taste like unadulterated butter. Just, well, fat.

With fat sauce.

I opted instead for, “Barenaked Ladies, If I had 1,000,000 flavours” (gotta love the Canadian spelling), “A collision of chocolate & vanilla ice cream mixed with chocolate-covered toffee, white chocolate chunks, peanut butter cups & chocolate-covered almonds”.

I would buy you a house...

mmmm ice cream!

I still hate macadamia nuts. But I love good ice cream. Look elsewhere if you want a macadamia nut recipe.

You won’t find it here.

~ Eva

