As pretty as it looks, the remoulade was a bit much.

Now, here is a month I can get behind. It’s the right season for potatoes, after all. But what to make, in celebration of the potato, both humble and mighty that it is?

Potatoes are actually mightily nutritious. While somewhat lacking in vitamin C, it must be said that in the northern European isles, potatoes were the primary source of vities for several hundred years.

Plus, they’re tasty. Nothing warm the heart like a giant pile of mashed taties and gravy.

I thought of potato gnocchi but again, I have to look pretty in a dress this month and that’s just not conducive. I thought of a plain ol’ baked potato, maybe with some of my family’s “secret sauce” (sour cream), but then I yawned.

I decided, finally, on this recipe by Food Network star Anne Burrell: potato –crusted halibut. Sounds divine, non?

infusing the oil - save it! you'll like it!

Try 1

Ok, try 2

Well, the potato, despite slicing perfectly on my mandolin, was quite tricky and the fish-scale method did not work (i.e. did not fold over properly). I had to improvise, to ensure that the potato would actually cover the halibut and stay put.

What to put on top? I considered a lemon–mustard–caper sauce but decided instead on rémoulade. Despite the fancy name, it was not the sauce for the dish, alas. Too rich. Nonetheless, it’s a good sauce, so … here’s a lovely rémoulade recipe but that’s not what I made. Didn’t have all of the ingredients, quite frankly, and again we’re all about improvisation here. So in my rémoulade (likely all wrong), I stirred together:

  • 2 T minced sweet onion
  • 2 T chopped capers
  • 2 T chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 1/2 T tarragon mustard (saves buying a whole bunch of tarragon)
  • 1 splash sherry vinegar (probably 2 tsp)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • about 3/4 C half-fat mayo
  • a blurp or two of Tabasco sauce (likely 1/2 tsp)

It needs to sit a bit to let the flavours blend. It was lovely. Especially the sherry vinegar. But see below.

tarragon mustard

On the whole, the dish was tasty. I actually found the rémoulade quite overpowering; ended up scraping it off and was done with it. The fish was divine.

~ Eva

