So today’s question really is:

How healthy do you want your food to be?

I can tell you friends, I have the best intentions. I signed up for National Oatmeal Nut Waffle Day with the true intention of bringing a yummy, healthy version of a waffle to the masses (or to the 50 odd people a day who read this blog!). Add some roughage (oatmeal), add some protein (nuts), top with some healthy apple sauce (no refined sugar for this girl!) and Voila! a delicious meal my naturopath can be proud of.

I my path towards this health conscious nirvana took this recipe:

1-1/2 cups whole grain buckwheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten (I used egg replacer)
2 cups milk (I used nut milk)
1/4 cup canola oil
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1/2cup chopped nuts

Directions:
In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Combine eggs, milk, oil; stir into dry ingredients and mix well. Fold in oats and nuts. Bake in a preheated waffle iron until golden brown.

The result?

*drumroll please*

I invented edible cardboard!

Yes, all that fiber, none of that butter and sugar, came together in some kind of synergistic way to make a truly dense and unappetizing waffle. I mean, it hadn’t even occurred to me that you could make a bad waffle, much less an offensive one.

So what’s the health conscious girl to do when faced with such a calamity in the kitchen?

(1) Smother said offensive waffle with brie. There, I can’t see it.

(2) Now dose with maple syrup… that about covers the worst of it.

(3) Tuck in… and promise myself I’ll go for a long walk in the morning to atone for my sins…